The thrill – or fear – of the first post

A blank blog to fill.  How beautiful!  How terrifying!

Well, I suppose that’s a start.

One of my chief reasons for beginning a blog is not to achieve fame, notoriety or wealth, but to ensure that I actually write stuff.   I would like to be some kind of writer (beyond university essays and civil service reports), but my deep-seated fear of blank pages keeps defeating me.  So, I have turned to the wonders of the computer age and started a blog.

I do not expect this blog to be always insightful, funny, intelligent, thought-provoking or focused (especially the focused).  I do hope it will be some of these at least some of the time.  And I am certain that you, dear reader, will have plenty of comment to inform me when I fail at all of the above!

A note for commenters: I have many-and-varied interests and many-and-varied opinions.  If you are looking for a blog that sticks to a particular topic, this isn’t a good place to start.  If you are looking for a blog that keeps its opinions to itself, its mouth shut and its head down, this isn’t a good place to start.  Don’t get all upset if I disagree with your worldview or if I discuss topics that don’t interest you.  It’s nothing personal!  And remember, you don’t have to read every post.  Do feel free to disagree with me and tell me about – but try to keep it intelligent and witty, and I’ll try and keep my responses the same.  🙂

Author: verdant1

belly dancer, mother, student, public servant, shaman, knitter, sister, feminist, gardener and a lot more...

5 thoughts on “The thrill – or fear – of the first post”

Come and join the conversation...

