On violence

I didn’t mean to get heavy so soon in the life of this blog, however, reading the news this morning there was something I couldn’t ignore: the NZ Herald (one of our largest papers) ran a story with this headline “Women who strike fear into their partners”.  The article goes onto describe how, according to a recently released NZ government report, NZ men are more likely to experience emotional and psychological abuse than NZ women.  Interesting.  Informative.  Highlights an issue I have a strong personal interest in.  What’s my problem?

This is.

A different story based on the same page of the same report: “One-in-3 women face violence”

Is it just me or do these two headlines present quite a different picture?  Or am I just reading too much feminist theory right now?

Because, quite frankly, I find it offensive that the physical violence one in every three women in NZ experiences in their lifetime (as documented in the report) is ignored in the Herald article, because the fact 14% of men say their partner gets angry if they talk to other women is more newsworthy.

I wholeheartedly agree that psychological abuse is a real problem – I’ve experienced it myself.  But physical violence to a third of our female population concerns me one heck of a lot more.  The physical violence experienced by one in five men during their life bothers me an awful lot, too.

Why are we so violent with each other?

How do we find a better way?

Author: verdant1

belly dancer, mother, student, public servant, shaman, knitter, sister, feminist, gardener and a lot more...

Come and join the conversation...

