Bonus photo

You already got a post, but, seeing as it’s Friday, I thought I’d better let you have a photo as well…

Not one of mine, but a lovely pic of my favourite Egyptian goddess – Sekhmet, lion headed goodess of destruction.

Sekhmet Wish I could remember where I found it – if you know, please let me know.  I’d like to credit it properly.

And a poem about her (this is my work):

I first met her

in the British Museum

Standing fourfold in the hall

Gazing at the alien bustle

No one here to remember her songs

Few who know her name

Fewer still who stop and look

Black lioness

Huntress

Protector

She watches

and waits


I meet her again

in the savannah of the soul

Standing fourfold in the grass

Gazing at the succulent wildebeest

Here she knows her song

Here she knows her name

Here she stops and looks

Gold lioness

Huntress

Protector

Provider

She watches

and waits


then


POUNCE

Author: verdant1

belly dancer, mother, student, public servant, shaman, knitter, sister, feminist, gardener and a lot more...

Come and join the conversation...

