Dancing with Ariellah – update

I posted earlier about belly dancing DVDs I had purchased.

With it now being November (eep!), I figured it was about time for an update on  my progress.

I am now able to almost survive the first section of Ariellah’s drills (my arms still give out before the end, but everything else is good).  I’m about to start including the second section of drills in my practice.

I’m really enjoying her contemplative and friendly teaching approach.  I am learning heaps, particularly about fine-tuning my movements.  She breaks down the moves really well, and I’ve been using some of her ideas in teaching at the belly dance club.

After one somewhat pitiful attempt, I’m still too chicken for the long yoga workout – I’m saving that for when I can get through all the drills.  With my studies over for the year, I’m hoping to make time to start working on some of the combinations/choreography as well.  But it won’t be today – I have a sick child home from school, so it’s Tintin on the DVD player instead (I’m coping!).

I’ve also braved Asherah’s DVD – and I’m proud to say I can now last 20 minutes of the 45 minute warm up before collapsing.

I’ve also added three more DVDs to my collection – Jenna’s Basics and Next level, and Fayzeh’s Tribal one.  All look interesting and useful, but I strongly suspect I’m going to be keeping Ariellah’s as my foundation DVD – at least until I’m a lot fitter!

Author: verdant1

belly dancer, mother, student, public servant, shaman, knitter, sister, feminist, gardener and a lot more...

Come and join the conversation...

