Losing my voice

I have lost my voice.

Yesterday morning I woke up and it wasn’t there.  Just a hoarse, painful whisper left in its place.

Given I’m a relatively orderly person, I must presume that its absence is the result of this viral infection my body is currently fighting rather than some absentmindedness on my part.

And I miss it.

And yet, I have only lost my voice temporarily and physically.  It will return in a few days – and in the meantime, I can write emails and blog posts and whisper to my family.  And I find myself wondering what it must be like for those who do not have a voice to start with – the poor, the oppressed, the young – and those whose voice has been taken from them – the tortured, the beaten, the abused, the murdered.

From my place of privilege, I cannot imagine what it must be like to live a non-privileged, indeed a forgotten, life.  While I may be ill right now, I still have access to affordable healthcare, clean water to drink, the internet to keep me amused – which means I have both electricity and literacy – a house large enough to pace around, books I can read, a husband who cares for me and is willing to share the household load, and (despite their protestations) my children are not actually starving because I am sick.

Perhaps I should stop reading social anthropology texts while I am ill?  (In this instance, Paul Farmer’s Pathologies of Power)

Or perhaps I should, while enjoying and appreciating my privileged life, do my utmost to ensure that my privilege does not come at the price of someone else’s voice.

Author: verdant1

belly dancer, mother, student, public servant, shaman, knitter, sister, feminist, gardener and a lot more...

4 thoughts on “Losing my voice”

  1. Thanks for the encouragement, Jen.
    And it’s been a good reminder for me too, especially at a time when I not feeling anything much except sick of being sick (I hate viruses!)

    Like

  2. I lost my voice last week! Had 3 days off work, wanted to come visit you for coffee, but could not call, and did not want to share my Laryngitis (I cannot spell that!). I missed my voice too. Even the dog ignored me because I could not talk to her. I felt as though if I coughed hard enough it may come back up my throat from wherever it was hiding. But it didn’t for 3 days. I did a lot of sewing. And surfing. So now I am in sexy husky mode, although humming to the radio still produces no sound (maybe someone is trying to tell me something there). It is a post hand-in virus, I should have warned you. If you had finished something important in the weeks preceeding, it gets you!

    Like

    1. Utmost empathy! Shall we try for coffee later this week instead?
      I’m now at the croaking phase after five days of whispers. Aiming for husky – but haven’t got there yet! Interesting though, I’m getting more sympathy now for croaking and sounding ill (but otherwise mostly better – except the mucus thing. Nuff said!), than when I coudln’t talk at all. Weird – and probably a lesson in that somewhere if I could be bothered looking right now. But today I’ve also got the sinus-full pounding headache thing. Yuck!!

      Like

Come and join the conversation...

