A perspective on ‘stuff’

A quote from environmental activist, Dana Meadows:

I brought these books into the house, every one made of ground-up trees.  I read them, yes, and loved them, but I have easy access to three good libraries.  I didn’t need to house a library of my own.  I piled up these books because I am impatient; I want to look up a quote or a fact instantly.  Because I fend off worries by escaping, and books are my escape mechanism….  The books are an expensive, troublesome, heavy, space-occupying fortress against having to confront my inner bugaboos.  I guess that’s also true of…the closets full of rarely worn clothes.  Stuff taken from the earth to bolster fantasy or foist off fear, stuff our non-affluent household paid a fortune for, stuff I’ve housed for decades, stuff that occupied the space of real life.

Picture all that stuff wrested from the mines and forests and soils of the earth, and finally, unceremoniously, dumped….  The price we’re paying for our stuff – in money and time and space and resources – is tremendous.

I could wish I’d written it myself, but mostly, I’m extremely grateful I have read it.  As an earth/Great Mother-honouring pagan and member of our Western consumerist society, this has got to be one of the best, and most accurate, gut-punching wake-up calls I’ve come across.  Especially that last paragraph.

Now to remember it in my daily life…

Author: verdant1

belly dancer, mother, student, public servant, shaman, knitter, sister, feminist, gardener and a lot more...

Come and join the conversation...

