Of weather and washing

If it is sunny when I do my laundry, it starts raining after it is hung on the line, yet if it is wet in the morning and I put the laundry in the dryer, the weather clears.  (Don’t ask what happens if I bring it, then hang it back out again.  That was not a good day and I’m not trying again.)

How can the laundry of one mortal have such control over the weather?  It doesn’t seem right.

And, as the mortal whose laundry apparently controls the local weather, does this mean I am in some way responsible for the weather and its results?  In which case, I am thankful that the area controlled does seem to be strictly limited – I’m sorry, I can do nothing to fix your drought or flood (unless, perhaps, I bring my laundry for a visit).

What about the days when I don’t do laundry?  How does the weather decide what to do then?

Or perhaps I should stop worrying about it and go eat my lunch before hunger makes my brain work even more strangely?

Coming next week: “My washing basket runneth over”, an allegorical interpretation of laundry folding.

Author: verdant1

belly dancer, mother, student, public servant, shaman, knitter, sister, feminist, gardener and a lot more...

3 thoughts on “Of weather and washing”

    1. Only yourself, dearest Aunty!
      I’m only claiming extremely limited local power – and I had to inherit it from somewhere, eh!

      Or does the power lie in the washing line itself?
      Which leads us to questions like is a rotary line or fixed line stronger? And what if you have a line undercover (e.g in a shed or garage)?
      🙂

      Like

Come and join the conversation...

