Dancing with the dakinis

I’m spent my weekend (between 9am and 1pm both days) at a meditation retreat here in Wellington.

Dido Dunlop, a Western Tibetan Buddhist meditation teacher who I love and admire, was leading a workshop/retreat/thingy  on dancing with the dakinis.  The dakinis are wild feminine spirits, probably from pre-Buddhist Tibet.  “Dakini” translates into English as “sky dancers”.  Through their dancing, the dakinis transform things like anger into loving action.  (click on the picture for an article on the dakinis)

This was my first time doing dancing meditation (no “just sitting” here!) and it was fabulous – joyful, energising, exciting, even (dare I say it) enlightening.  It makes me smile broadly just thinking about it!  There is something about letting the body move freely without thought/plan/design while being led through the meditation that really helped still my mind and release my spirit.

I know this weekend was only a beginning.

This is definitely a practice I will be exploring more.

And I’m really looking forward to it!

Author: verdant1

belly dancer, mother, student, public servant, shaman, knitter, sister, feminist, gardener and a lot more...

Come and join the conversation...

