“Craft is my life”

I recently realised a very strange thing: despite blogging for more than six months, I have yet to write a post about craft.

To those who only know me through my blog, this may not seem so strange.  But those who have to put up with me in life-beyond-blogging also have to put up with an awful lot of crafting, especially in the realms of knitting/crocheting/beading/sewing.  If a day goes by without me doing at least one of those things, the world may have already come to an end!  Or at least you’ll know I’m very ill.

So, the question sprang to my mind, why the heck haven’t I blogged about it?  I know I’ve made passing reference to such activities, but never an entire post.  Is it only because I’m too lazy to sort my photos?!  Or is something more than that going on?  (I freely admit that the sorting photos thing is true).

One thought was that I’m so busy doing craft, I don’t get round to thinking, let alone writing, about it.  But given how much time I spend reading, planning, heck even dreaming, about it (especially anything involving yarn) that doesn’t really fly.  Neither does the idea that it’s not something that involves a computer – I spend enough time browsing patterns online and building book and yarn orders to write several blog posts a week!  And it would probably work out cheaper if I did that instead…

Perhaps it has something to do with the fact that it is so integrated into my life (I learnt to knit when I was seven) that there isn’t much about it I feel the need to ponder aloud about on my blog.  It’s not something I’ve learnt as a political activity or to reclaim or anything – it’s ‘just’ what I do (and do a lot!).

After much consideration, I’m still not entirely sure why.

However, I have determined a fix to the ‘problem’: write some posts!

Author: verdant1

belly dancer, mother, student, public servant, shaman, knitter, sister, feminist, gardener and a lot more...

1 thought on ““Craft is my life””

Come and join the conversation...

