Simplicity

(Oops, where did October go?!)

While I was off nursing my sore head, I also spent a lot of time raiding our local library.  Along with my usual range of yarn books and graphic novels, I also included many books on simplifying your life, de-cluttering, sustainable living and so on.  This has been like quiet background music in my life for some years, but something about whacking my head has brought it up to the surface.

And, as well as reading about it, I am much more actively trying to live simply:

I have begun de-cluttering my house and my computer (even my bookmarked websites!).

I am endeavouring to focus my time and energy on what matters to me, rather than getting caught up in the ‘tyranny of the urgent’ (wish I knew who coined that phrase.  Anyone know?).

I am endeavouring to use what I have and not just ‘buy, buy, buy’, especially when it comes to clothing and crafting.  My yarn stash is slowly going down as I knit/crochet my way through it (not all de-cluttering is quick!) and this will eventually bring the added benefit of  more clear space in my work room.

Even ‘little’ things like trying to have less craft projects on the go at one time are making a difference to how my life feels (although admittedly, I am still in the ‘clearing up the six gazillon projects I already started’ phase of that).

It still feels a bit one step forward, two back, especially as Christmas draws closer.  I will be focusing on Fairtrade consumables and Oxfam gifts again this year (although my boys just want Transformers and Star Wars stuff, so guess what they’re getting!  Mostly books though)

Anyway, for those of you interested in such things (simplicity and so forth, that is, not Transformers), here’s some resources I’ve found inspiring and useful:

Books (in the interests of keeping your clutter down, try your public library for these!)

  • The Passion Test by Janet and Chris Attwood  – very good for identifying what really matters to you.
  • Throw Out 50 Things by Gail Blanke – excellent de-cluttering aide.
  • SHED Your Stuff by Julie Morgenstein – another de-cluttering guide for all of life.

Blogs:

  • Miss Minimalist – I’m not this minimalist myself, but I still find this blog very inspiring
  • The Energy Budget – about living life and using your own energy wisely
  • Smaller Living – not about living less, but about living more with less stuff

(I have been looking at a whole heap of other sites, too – but just realised this wasn’t very simple of me!  This post would’ve been written sooner, but I spent the early part of this evening beginning to cull my web bookmarks.)

Author: verdant1

belly dancer, mother, student, public servant, shaman, knitter, sister, feminist, gardener and a lot more...

2 thoughts on “Simplicity”

Come and join the conversation...

