“It’s not easy being green”

Thanks to my eclectic library browsing habits, I am currently reading ‘The Green Beauty Guide‘.

This is not a book that should be read by the faint of heart, especially if they use a lot of cosmetic products.  Even as  a low-level user, it has made me think a lot about what I’m putting on my skin, and thus into my body.

As someone who tries to be green and natural about these things, I’ve found it distressing how many supposedly green cosmetics actually aren’t.  I’m fortunate that we do have good genuinely green skin care companies here in New Zealand that make products I can use (I’m particularly fond of Trilogy)  However, I’m a bit stuck on the make up front, now I’ve discovered The Body Shop is green more in their branding than their ingredients.  While I’m not a big make up user, I do need some for my dance performances.  And it is nice to throw on the odd bit of eyeliner and lippy…

Anyone have any suggestions?

Author: verdant1

belly dancer, mother, student, public servant, shaman, knitter, sister, feminist, gardener and a lot more...

2 thoughts on ““It’s not easy being green””

  1. It’s not easy finding products that are eco-friendly, body-friendly, and purse-friendly!
    I have just discovered Earth 174 skincare products, available on line and at their store. They are just gorgeous, and so pure – no nasty chemicals here! I believe they will custom make products too.
    For shampoo & conditioner, you can’t go wrong with Herbal Selections (www.ecofrenz.com). they are the purest I have come across to date, although I have only ever found them through mail order. Commonsense organics sell a nice tinted lipbalm in 3 shades that is tinted heavily enough to serve as lipstick. Burts Bees also do a good range of lippie, but it is more expensive. As for Foundation & eye make up, that is where it gets tricky. The best ones I have come across are Living Nature and Coleur Caramel. I say they are ‘best’ based on price and performance, but unfortunately neither range have the sparkle needed for stage make up. (Coleur Caramel used to do a range of talc-free shimmer pots, but I believe they no longer make them).
    BTW, you might find it interesting to note that I have tried many, many natural sunscreens and to date, have found the best, in terms of ease to apply and ingredients, is ‘Invisible Zinc’.

    Like

Come and join the conversation...

