Project 333 – One month on

Well, I have survived the opening month of this phase of Project 333.  I have worn 27 of my original list of 29 garments – one top is too warm for Summer wear (but just right for Autumn) and one skirt I found needed mending before I can wear it (and still needs mending two weeks later – bad me!).

So far, it has been very straightforward, helped by the school holidays combined with the ‘currently-not-in -paid-employment’ thing (which I do intend to change, but that’s a whole ‘nother post).

I haven’t had any particularly earth-shattering minimalist revelations as a result of doing this.  Yes, it does make getting dressed in the morning quite simple, but I was already dressing pretty much the same every day before the project, so that’s not a huge change for me.   It has helped me become more aware of which are the ‘workhorse’ garments in my wardrobe: a few surprises in there with the ubiquitous jeans – who knew a turquoise cropped cardi could be so useful?!  But (confession time), I am getting a little bored with seeing the ‘same old things’ in the drawer every day.

I have become very aware of how much of my creativity is tied into my wardrobe – especially as I knit, crochet and sew. I have been finding it very hard to get motivated to work on projects I know I won’t be wearing until April.  And this hasn’t translated into a huge outpouring of creativity in other areas.  If anything, my creative productivity has slumped quite dramatically – even my already sporadic blog-posting has dropped!  If it wasn’t for my twice-monthly knitting group meetings, I’d be getting even less done.

Of course, I could re-jig my chosen items to make the selection more creative, but then I would have to do laundry more often, which I don’t want to do for a variety of reasons, including environmental ones and the simple fact, that with a family of four, I have enough laundry to do already!

So I have decided that, while I will complete this phase of the project, I won’t be joining in on future phases.  I will continue to maintain my wardrobe inventory and will work towards having a small (but larger than 33 item!), creative wardrobe.

While I have no interest in rampaging consumerism and up-to-the-minute fashion, I do want to express myself through my clothes.  And, while I am doing this to some extent through the project, I am looking forward to doing it even more after the end of March!

 

 

Author: verdant1

belly dancer, mother, student, public servant, shaman, knitter, sister, feminist, gardener and a lot more...

2 thoughts on “Project 333 – One month on”

  1. I have been working on living more simply for about a year now, but still have a slight clothing addiction. I am sure I have far fewer clothes than many people I know, I find that some part of me is really happy when I am trying to figure out what I want to wear. In my effort to get rid of some of my clothes I have found I am using scarfs more to express my creativity. Oh well, one day I may cut back even more. Congrats on the effort!

    Like

Come and join the conversation...

