Qiviuk

I cast on a new knitting project last night.

Last year, my parents went on a trip to Canada and Alaska.  They very kindily brought me back a ball of yarn, but not just any old yarn: this yarn is a Qiviuk blend with extrafine merino and mulberry silk (you have to be wealthy and/or a yarnnut to buy pure Qiviuk) in a green colour as soft as the yarn is (this is not needless rhapsodising).

This is the yarn I have cast on.

Warning for non-knitters: technical bits follow, but there will be a photo, too 🙂

Now, one 1oz/28g ball has 217 and a bit yards of yarn, so I’m hoping that will be enough to knit me a scarf.  I’m using 5mm needles for extra drape (and in the hopes of getting a larger scarf).  The yarn is knitting up gorgeousily and is a delight to work with.  It is both fuzzy (from the qiviuk) and has a slight sheen (from the silk).  With the different fibres taking dye differently, the colour is rich, not flat.

I’m knitting a triangle and I’ve opted for a simple garter chevron approach.  I’ve added a couple of texture rows to keep it interesting, but the yarn doesn’t really need anything too complicated.

The basic pattern, which I’ve developed myself, is as follows:

Odd-numbered rows – k1, kfb, k to 1 st before centre marker kfb, slip marker, kfb, k to 3 sts before end of row, kfb, k2 (increase 4 st each time)
Even-numbered rows – k
except
Row 4 – k2, p to last 2 sts, k2
and
Row10 – k2, (k2tog, yo) rep to 2 sts before marker, k2, slip marker, k1, (yo,k2tog) rep to 2 sts before end of row, k2

And this is how it looks after 2 and a bit repeats:

You can see the chevron shape starting to form – top of the picture is top of the garment.

BTW the yarn bag and stitch marker [note for non-knitters: this is being used to mark the centre stitch, so I don’t mess up the pattern] are made by my good friend, Jenny.  She does great work and it’s a privilege to know her (let alone be given things by her!)

Now to try and get this finished for my birthday on the 23rd…

Author: verdant1

belly dancer, mother, student, public servant, shaman, knitter, sister, feminist, gardener and a lot more...

Come and join the conversation...

