Project 333 – March update

The season is changing and the Project is drawing closer to an end – for me anyway.

I’ve managed to wear even less of my different clothes in February (thank you, weather, for being fairly even in temperature!), which may explain the boredom starting to creep in.  Given I’ve worn well under the 33 garments allowed, I’ve decided to add a couple back in – ones I’ve really missed.  It does make me smile to see them hanging in the wardrobe again.

With autumn starting to make its presence felt here, I’m really looking forward to more layering and more creativity (not to mention more snuggly clothes!).  Our summer was been a warm one, so very few layers required.

I have just worked through the remains of my non-Project wardrobe and released several more garments into the wild.  A few others are put to one side to be upcycled into something I may actually enjoy wearing (or, if it all goes horribly wrong, cushion covers!)   These are the ones where I love the fabric and colour, but something about the cut is wrong.  Mostly these clothes are too boxy, which at least gives me plenty of fabric to play with as I endeavour to make more tailored/fitted garments from them.  I’ll try to remember to take before and after photos for a future post.

I’m now planning for my post-Project wardrobe, which is certainly going to be smaller and, perhaps more importantly, more focused than pre-Project.  One thing I’m truly grateful for from the Project is my increased awareness of what I actually enjoy wearing, rather than what I think I should enjoy wearing.

This has led me to a few interesting discoveries: like the colours I really love wearing (chartruse, sepia brown and deep turquoise with a side of olive and chocolate – not so much the russets I thought I liked), and the styles I’m attracted to (a mix of steampunk/neo-Victorian, belly dance wear and pixie).  Preparing my wardrobe to match this weird aesthetic will be an ongoing process for awhile, one I’m really looking forward to.

Author: verdant1

belly dancer, mother, student, public servant, shaman, knitter, sister, feminist, gardener and a lot more...

2 thoughts on “Project 333 – March update”

Come and join the conversation...

