Managing time

Last week, as kind of indicated in my last post, was a rather unfocused week for me.  Given all that I try to jam into my life, I do need to make the best possible use of the hours available to me while my kids are at school.  Last week was rather a FAIL on this.

However, I did come across a tool at my168hours.com that helps you figure out where your time goes – it’s simple in principle, but does require attention and discipline to complete.  It’s basically a spreadsheet of all the hours in your week, which you complete to record what you do when.  You can find it here.

As I came across it late in the week, I decided to complete it this week (it runs Monday to Sunday).  I count this as part of my ongoing de-cluttering and simplifying process.  Time usage is a really easy area for me to clutter up, so anything that helps me clear that clutter is a good thing.

I also decided to see if I could build a flexible structure for my day to help me cover everything off, which I have also been trialling this week.  I realise this may give a less than accurate picture of where my time has gone in the past, but I couldn’t stand the thought of another week frittering away.  And it’s not like this is for some social sciences experiment with rigorous methodology.  It’s just for me.

I’ll be doing the analyis of the spreadsheet next week, but the flexible daily structure thing is working quite well (although I’ve bent it horribly this morning).  Basically, I’ve allocated rough time periods each day to the different activities I need to do e.g.: it’s 10 am, time to practice dance; it’s 1:30 pm, time to do housework; and so on (right now is scheduled for study, so I guess it’s going to be “bye bye, housework” today – oopsie!).  I plan to run the plan Monday to Thursday; Friday is grocery day, so never runs to any plan!

So far, it’s working well.  I’m finding it surprisingly relaxing: instead of rushing round thinking about what I should be doing and aren’t, I’m focusing on what I can do right now.  It’s also helping me move between different activities without guilt, as it cuts out that whole “I should be doing  more of this” tune.

And right now it’s 11:30 am, so, without any guilt, I shall publish this post as it is and go study!

Enjoy your day 🙂

Author: verdant1

belly dancer, mother, student, public servant, shaman, knitter, sister, feminist, gardener and a lot more...

Come and join the conversation...

