Change – the only constant

One of the ideas I’ve been most grateful for during this busy time of not posting has been the Buddhist concept of impermanence: nothing lasts forever, there will always be change, this is how the universe works, so get used to it.

I’ve been through a lot of change in a short space of time: a new permanent job, stopping my studies, teaching a new dance class, and a whole heap of inner work and spiritual change I’ll post on later.  None of these changes has been particularly big in themselves, but together they’ve added up to quite  a fundamental life shift.

Perhaps the biggest thing I’ve noticed is a new sense of purpose and focus.  If you like, along with de-cluttering the house, I’m actually managing to de-clutter my life.  As my available time is limited by my new commitments, I’ve got much more focused about how I spend my time.  This doesn’t mean I’ve suddenly become a paragon of super-woman-hood, as I still place a lot of importance on looking after myself and making time and space to relax (in other words, the Moshi Monster membership stays!).  It does mean I’ve assessed what I find meaningful and am placing my energy there.

One of the things I seriously considered giving up was this blog.  For a while now, as you may have noticed, it hasn’t been high on my pritoity list.  However, some of the inner work I’ve been doing convinced me to keep going and make it a higher priority.  You may notice some shifts in the content over time that will reflect the shifts inside me, but I hope you’ll still find it an interesting read.  Remember, your comments and feedback are always welcome, even (or perhaps that should be ‘especially’) if you don’t agree with everything I say!  Keep it polite and meaningful, and I’ll be happy to have lively discussions in the comments threads 🙂

Author: verdant1

belly dancer, mother, student, public servant, shaman, knitter, sister, feminist, gardener and a lot more...

2 thoughts on “Change – the only constant”

Come and join the conversation...

