What is important?

As I alluded to in this post, over recent weeks, I have been reassessing my priorities and re-focusing myself.  This, quite naturally, has led me to the question:

What is important?

Now I know a bit about what is important to me.  In fact, I’m picking regular readers could write this list for me (in no particular order):

  • my family
  • belly dance
  • creativity
  • living simply
  • textile crafts/making stuff
  • feminism
  • reading
  • the world we live in
  • nature

And this is all very fine and well, but I do have to question how much of this list is important to more than just me.  And while there may be many people who share some or all of my interests/passions/obsessions, I feel that my list is really just the surface level of something deeper: WHY is this stuff important to me?  Digging below the surface hasn’t been all easy, but it has helped me realise the real question I wanted/needed to answer (Note: it is more straightforward finding the answers once you’ve got the right question!)  And that question is:

What is important?

While it may look the same as the question above, it both is and isn’t the same.  Let me explain: ‘Important’ comes at different levels – personal, local, global and probably heaps more.  For awhile I’ve been asking this question at a personal level.  The time has come for me to consider it at other levels, which essentially boils down to this question:

What is truly important for living responsibly and fully as part of this world?

Now answers to this may vary from person to person, especially in the surface results.  But I am looking for core answers/values to underpin my surface.  I haven’t got all my answers yet, and I would be very interested to hear your ideas and musings on this.  I do have a few ideas already (and I intend to explore these each in greater depth in future posts), including:

  • compassion
  • connection
  • curiosity
  • recognising ‘enough’
  • justice
  • passion

What do you think?

Is there anything you would add to this list?  Or leave off?

Please lets talk about this. Let’s discuss, agree, disagree and discuss some more . Then we can then DO this – live our lives meaningfully, repsonsibly and fully.

Comments, please 🙂

Author: verdant1

belly dancer, mother, student, public servant, shaman, knitter, sister, feminist, gardener and a lot more...

Come and join the conversation...

