Small steps – 13 by 2013 update

In the two and a half months since I posted my list of 13 by 2013, I have made some small progress towards my goals.

I’ve made a first attempt at #3 – and reduced down to 2 boxes.  I have one box of my real treasures, and 1 box of stuff I’m more ho-hum about, but that I can’t part with just yet.  Still, at least they’re in separate boxes now!  I’ve also had some ideas about how I store my treasures that I will work on in the future – the big question being: if it’s so precious to me, why should it be kept stuck in a  box?

I have completed one of the craft projects from #1.  #1.9 – the brown and green skirt – is finished and being worn!

I have realised that with my sewing projects in particular I have regular ‘stall points’, which can halt a project’s progress for months (even years).  With this skirt, it was inserting the zip.  (I have previously had some bad experiences with zips, and my zipper foot and I have an ‘uneven’ relationship.) With this skirt, it went very smoothly, once I actually got started and I got the remainder – including making a lining and the gathered hem detailing done in a day.  I’m hoping this will help ease this stall point for future projects, and I’m very happy with how it’s turned out.  It’s lovely to wear.

#1 – I am making progress towards completing some of the other craft projects, but I have also started a few new things as well – bad girl!

#2 – My attempts to use up my stash have also been somewhat stymied by my lack of resistance to other’s clean-outs.  I now have a couple of extra boxes of yarn in my work room (sigh), one of which is full of cones suitable for weaving which I was intending/hoping to pass on to a friend who weaves.  Instead, I am now storing her loom (she’s just moved into a ‘compact’ rental) and she’ll be teaching me how to weave.  On the plus side, I have been told that weaving eats yarn quicker than knitting!  We shall see…

#12 – We have also been doing a lot of work on our garden (there’s a whole post waiting there) and the front garden is almost stripped out and ready for re-planting

Please don’t ask about the rest just yet 🙂

Author: verdant1

belly dancer, mother, student, public servant, shaman, knitter, sister, feminist, gardener and a lot more...

4 thoughts on “Small steps – 13 by 2013 update”

  1. Progress is progress. And it’s so much better to have a plan so you know where you are headed. The fabric on the skirt (which is gorgeous by the way) looks familiar…….

    Like

    1. Funny that! Thanks for letting me have it – it was lovely to work with and is lovely to wear 🙂
      Thanks for the encouragement, too. I’ve recently been feeling a bit adrift and out of balance. Reviewing my plan and thinking really helped get me back on track.

      Like

Come and join the conversation...

