Natural movement

One of my ‘side projects’ that affects both my day to day life and my dancing has been improving my knowledge of posture and body mechanics.

I have two main reasons for taking an interest in this area:

  1. I don’t want to damage my dance students by teaching bad habits
  2. I want to be able move well and dance until I’m at least 80

It has been fascinating starting to discover about how my body is supposed to work and what bad habits of use I have.

My main source for information and advice is the wonderful (and searchable) blog “Katy Says” by Katy Bowman of Aligned and Well.  One day I intend to study her full restorative exercise programme; in the meantime I read the blog!

I’ve also just discovered this blog: “The Path You Take“.  It does a good job of explaining body mechanics concepts in a friendly and accessible-to-novices way.

I’ve been amazed at how simple and subtle changes can affect my movement and my life: I can now walk up stairs better than I ever could, walk faster and stronger than I could before, and feel strong, confident and healthy in my body (while being well aware I have a lot of work still to do for maximum functioning).  It’s certainly an encouragement to perservere with my ongoing efforts to squat properly…

I really recommend checking out this stuff for yourself.  We all have bodies, so we might as well learn how best to use them!  (and our Western lifestyle really isn’t designed the best for us…)

Author: verdant1

belly dancer, mother, student, public servant, shaman, knitter, sister, feminist, gardener and a lot more...

Come and join the conversation...

