SuperBetter

A few weeks ago I watched this TED talk.

Shortly after I set up an account on the game the talk is about: SuperBetter (which for some reason I always want to type as SupperBetter).

So, what is SuperBetter?

I would describe it as an online health goal setting game (although I think you could adapt it to suit almost any goal). It is designed to help you build your resilience in four main areas: physical, mental, emotional and social.

How does it work?

Basically, when you set up an account, you also set up some goals and challenges (called ‘quests’). You can do this by using pre-prepared ‘PowerPacks’ and you can also make your own.

Every day or so, you log in and update your progress.

The game also has a social side – you recruit allies to support you in your efforts and they can monitor your progress and suggest quests for you. My current main ally is my sister. (Always happy for more!)

It is a relatively simple thing, but I think it has a lot of power and potential.

How is it working for me?

Personally, I’m finding it really helpful – not because there’s anything particularly new to me in the information presented, but because it gives me an external accountability (and a regular reminder) to do what I already know I should be doing. I’m also finding it encouraging: I want to do more and push myself along a bit further.

I thought it might be a bit ‘cringe-y’, but I’m not finding that in practice. It manages to be both upbeat and non-patronising – a rare achievement!

Only time will tell if I get the results I want – although that really does come down to me doing what I know I need to do.

So far, I am feeling a bit more energy – and I’m enjoying eating more healthy food (I ❤ veg). I am also feeling positive about the efforts I am making, rather than running myself down for not doing ‘enough’. All of which helps me keep on trying 🙂

Who would I recommend it to?

Anyone wanting to live a more healthy life AND who finds external reminders, encouragement and accountability helpful.

Give it a try and let me know what you think 🙂

Author: verdant1

belly dancer, mother, student, public servant, shaman, knitter, sister, feminist, gardener and a lot more...

Come and join the conversation...

