13 by 2013 update – will I make it?!

No, I probably won’t!!

Here’s what I thought I should do this year:

1. Finish partially completed or promised craft projects

2. Use up my stash (fabric and yarn) until it fits into the currently available storage boxes

3. Clear out my personal archive boxes (aiming for one, not three)

4. Clear out the filing cabinet

5. Sort and organise the kids’ past artwork

6. Sort and organise our digital photos (at least up to  the end of 2008)

7. Get my full Drivers’ licence

8. Make my tribal belly dance tassel belt

9. Read my current “to read” pile

10. Make my bedroom more of  a haven and less of a dumping ground

11. Clean the oven at least twice

12. Sort out and maintain the front garden beds

13. Go to the dentist

Given it’s now well and truly December (eep!), there’s only a few more weeks to go until it is 2013 (more eep!). So, what have I actually done this year?

Lets annotate the above list first:

1. Finish partially completed or promised craft projects

I have finished some, made progress on some, ripped out some and ignored others:

In the finished pile are the cot blanket for Emily’s baby, “pay it forwards” to Katy (though she won’t see it until Christmas Day – mwahahaha!), “pay it forwards” to Liz, the Celtic needlepoint, and the green and brown skirt (5 projects)

In the progress pile are Brian’s cardigan, Hamish’s blanket, and Matthew’s blanket (3 projects – all fo which are a LOT further along than this time last year :-))

In the ripped out (i.e. not going to happen ever so unpicked) pile is the charcoal jacket.

Which leaves the ignored pile: the 8ply jacket for me (I’ve paused before doing the second front because I need the needles for Brian’s cardigan. BTW I hate patterns that say “reverse the shaping for the previous front” when they’re a bliming complicated tailored fit… just saying), the cot quilt (a longstanding UnFinished Object or UFO) and the embroidered tunic (another longstanding one) – only 3 projects.

I feel really happy with my progress here – and I’ve also made a heap of other stuff during the year :-).

2. Use up my stash (fabric and yarn) until it fits into the currently available storage boxes

Well, I did cheat here and buy new yarn storage boxes! But they look cool and are working well, so I’ll forgive myself 😉

I have been working hard to use resources from my stash and have done quite a lot with what I already had. However, this has also been a year of all my friends clearing out stuff, so I still have stuff spilling out onto the floor..

Despite my hard work, I am finishing the year with more stash than I started. I am okay about that, but I will continue to manage the piles down over 2013 (and beyond!)

3. Clear out my personal archive boxes (aiming for one, not three)

This one is largely a win. I have one box of stuff I want to keep forever-ish and another of stuff I’m not quite ready to part with yet.

I still have plenty of paper to work through – but there is another year coming…

4. Clear out the filing cabinet

Partial progress here, with more work to be done next year.

5. Sort and organise the kids’ past artwork

DONE! They each have an archive box for their art, with room for more treasures as they grow. When they leave home, they can keep it or bin it as they choose. This balances my sentimental urge to keep everything with my desire to have some living space!

6. Sort and organise our digital photos (at least up to  the end of 2008)

Yeah, right! But I have taken lots more photos, as you know…

7. Get my full Drivers’ licence

This one will be done Feb/March next year – honest!

8. Make my tribal belly dance tassel belt

This has gone by the wayside for now. I’m not dancing tribal style at the moment, so there isn’t a great need. I also own “Fluffie” which again reduces the need. I have made plenty of other dance costuming and mastered the fine art of pantaloon making…

9. Read my current “to read” pile

Achieved – and plenty more books besides!

10. Make my bedroom more of  a haven and less of a dumping ground

A work-in-progress or constant battle – depending on which day you ask me! The pendulum is slowly swinging more consistently away from ‘dumping ground’, but it does require constant vigilance.

11. Clean the oven at least twice

Cough! Um, in my (pitiful) defence, I have THOUGHT about it way more than twice, however…

12. Sort out and maintain the front garden beds

Another work in progress. I now have veges in my front garden and other plants (mostly herbs) I  want to keep, but the weeds keep fighting back hard.

13. Go to the dentist

Oops.

Outsides this list, I have done heaps – made dance costumes, made clothes for myself that weren’t on the list, made craft goodies to sell (coming to an Etsy.com near you in the New Year), worked on my garden, cleaned my house, enjoyed the online world, cleared a lot of clutter – physical, mental and spiritual, read heaps of books, got a clearer fix on what I want and like in life, spent time with my family and friends, danced (though never enough), played with my kids, discovered new music, eaten chocolate and cake and fresh vegetables, learnt I can take good photos, worked hard at my job, breathed, sung, enjoyed life…

That will do me.

***

So, now what? What does it all mean?!

Overall, I am both happy with the progress I have made and confident that I continue to do and be more over the coming months and years (including getting that oven cleaned!)

With hindsight, my list was rather full – particularly as I know how good I am at (not) keeping to lists. It has been a useful tool to get me thinking about what I want to achieve and how I clear the clutter out of my life. I don’t plan to try 14 by 2014, but I might just make a top 10 list for the coming year… though perhaps with slightly smaller goal posts 😉

 

Author: verdant1

belly dancer, mother, student, public servant, shaman, knitter, sister, feminist, gardener and a lot more...

1 thought on “13 by 2013 update – will I make it?!”

  1. Awesome job.
    Lists are good, in that they give you an idea of where you are headed and if you’ve got there. But you made that list 12 months ago, and things change. You’ve worked with that, which is fantastic.

    Like

Come and join the conversation...

