PC#14 – Evolution of a challenge

Over December, I have been reviewing my experiences with my photo challenge.

I’ve found it a very useful exercise for many reasons, including:

  • learning to use my phone camera
  • developing my ‘eye’ for a shot that will work with my phone (a LOT of trial and error here!)
  • learning more about the photos I enjoy taking. Turns out I enjoy taking architectural and pattern/texture/line shots way more than the natural landscape photos I thought I ought to enjoy.

It has definitely been a challenge at times; both with working to a theme and remembering to take photos on non-work days.

Accoridngly, I have chosen to adjust the challenge to suit myself (because I can!)

Welcome to the newly evolved challenge:

THE PHOTO COMMUTE

What it is:

I will still be posting unmodified photos taken with my mobile phone camera. The new bit is that these will be whatever takes my eye as I walk to and from work (or anywhere else). No theme and no pressure to take a photo on non-work days (when I was forgetting anyway).

So, without further ado, here’s the first batch of Photo Commute snaps from my run-up to Christmas:

Wall texture by the National Library
Wall texture by the National Library
The low roofed walkway outside the Minsitry of Defence
The low roofed walkway outside the Ministry of Defence
Serendipidious accidental shot whiel workign with my son
Serendipidious accidental shot while walking with my son
Modernist garden outside the remodelled Royal Society
Modernist garden outside the remodelled Royal Society
A host of buildings reach to the sky (from left: Ministry of Defence, Ministry of Justice, National Library)
A host of buildings reach to the sky (from left: Ministry of Defence, Ministry of Justice, National Library)
I love these blue pools outside the Court of Appeal
I love these blue pools outside the Court of Appeal
The building site outside my work
The building site outside my work (my workplace is up behind the red-cloaked scaffold – interesting times!)
Paving outside the National Library
Paving outside the National Library
Lights on the ceiling of the little arcade by my work
Lights on the ceiling of the little arcade beneath my workplace

Author: verdant1

belly dancer, mother, student, public servant, shaman, knitter, sister, feminist, gardener and a lot more...

Come and join the conversation...

