Joining the Stashbusting Sewalong

One of my challenges for de-cluttering is the area of craft supplies. Over the years, I have accumulated significant quantities of fabric and yarn (and quite a few beads). While I do sort through these to get rid of the “what was I thinking” items, actually using the stuff I like and want to use takes time, energy and inspiration that often seems in short supply.

So… I’ve signed up for Cation DesignsStashbusting Sewalong“.

Stashbusting Sewalong

Sewalongs and Knitalongs are popular ways of working with others online to help each particpant complete their own version of the same project.

The Stashbusting Sewalong appears to take its inspiration from these ancient methods of internet craft community building; however, rather than everyone making their own version of the same garment, this is about supporting your fellow craftspeople to reduce their stash (accumulated pile of fabric or yarn resources). To quote from the original post:

The 2013 Stashbusting Sewalong is a casual sewalong whose goal is to encourage us to reduce the size of our stashes. If you’ve got more fabric than you know what to do with, join Emily and me as we systematically purge our stashes by sewing items to fit a series of themes. We’ve got a whole schedule that you can follow if you need that kind of structure, or you can just join us by pledging to destash in your own way; it doesn’t matter if you want to follow our themes, as long as you use up that stash fabric. Either way, we know we’re in it together, and we know that others will be cheering us on as we go. If it takes a village to raise a child, well, it takes an online community to bust a stash!

Given the state of my workroom, this was an ideal opportunity for me:

The fabric-full sewing space in my workroom
The fabric-full sewing space in my workroom – full ‘glory’ (or is that ‘gory’?!) of floor not in picture…

Participants make a pledge in the comments section.

Here’s my pledge:

I, Jude (aka Verdant), commit to using up at least two crates worth of fabric (about 20 pieces) and all the loose bits on the floor. I also commit to finishing each project and not leaving any languishing a year waiting for sleeves or buttonholes.

These are the boxes I want empty and out of my space:

The boxes of fabric I've pledged to use
The boxes of fabric I’ve pledged to use

And here’s the first thing I’ve made towards this end:

"Corp Goth" skirt in fine striped suiting and black satin - it swishes!
“Corp Goth” skirt in fine striped suiting and black satin – it swishes!

More to come soon 🙂

Author: verdant1

belly dancer, mother, student, public servant, shaman, knitter, sister, feminist, gardener and a lot more...

7 thoughts on “Joining the Stashbusting Sewalong”

  1. Inspiring. I stumbled across the same site as you (Cation Designs) and the stashbusting pledge. I am a bit intrigued, but, I must also say a bit cautious. I am in the same league (a large stash of fabric). I just am curious about how do you decide on a quantitative measurement. Since I’m recently retired, I do not need to add to my wardrobe. So, I’ve turned to sewing home decor items. These can be quickie projects or a bit more time consuming (quilting projects). What did you use to help you set your goal?

    Like

  2. For me, I chose based on what is annoying me most in my workspace.

    If I can empty those two crates and tidy the floor, I will have a significant increase in space, which is what motivates me. (I haven’t counted the pieces of fabric I need to deal with – that was a little too scary to contemplate!) I also use my work room as a dance practice space, so more floor is a good thing.

    I strongly suspect that a lot of what I sew won’t be the actual fabric in those crates. But using fabric in other boxes (I have a few!) will allow me to re-arrange. I am going through a major wardrobe re-vamp (I turn 40 shortly, so I have been doing a lot of thinking and life review work in recent months), so I think most of what I sew will be towards that, with the odd other bit thrown in for good measure 🙂

    Like

  3. I’m really liking the idea of the stashbusting sewalong. I really need to use up a bunch of my stash. Especially as I’m re-organising my sewing room and I don’t want any stored downstairs, but still need room to work in here.

    I love the skirt you’ve made too.

    Like

    1. Room to work is nice when you can get it – LOL! That’s another reason I want more floor: it would be cool to cut out fabric without having to shift it for every piece… That and there’s a rug under there somewhere I’d quite like to see again!

      One thing I really liked about the sewalong was that you get to choose your commitment size. I’ve commited to something reasonably large, but wiht my kids being older, it’s now do-able (though the garden may suffer…) It is proving quite inspiring for me to start moving and keep moving. I’m already part way through another skirt and have a vest waiting for me to get the right bias binding to finish it – which given I usually complete about four garments a year (though I start plenty more), is nothing short of a minor miracle. I also suspect admitting to myself how much my mess annoys me hasn’t hurt – that and the end-of-school-holidays desire to not be around my beloved children!!

      Thanks for the compliment – I’m really pleased with how it worked out (especially that oopsie bit when I realised I’d cut it out small and had to add bits… Note: top stitiching really makes sewing look deliberate and planned!). I’m hoping to lose some weight and when I do, I’ll add some corset lacing to the stripy side panel.

      Like

      1. I do like that you can commit to whatever you think you are able. I’m just trying to work out what would be a doable level for me. I’m wondering about something along the lines of making more projects from stash than I do from new materials.
        I’m realising I’m more likely to make things when my creative space is organised and a pleasure to work in. It’s also a nice little escape from looking after my little one.

        Sounds like you’re making good progress 🙂 Oooooo, corset lacing, love it.

        Like

Come and join the conversation...

