Pondering Personality

Yesterday at my day-job, my team spent some time receiving results of a work preferences/personalities survey.

I liked this survey because it went beyond the usual personality typing into areas of work preference and work function. While the focus was on the overall team and which roles our team is strong in and which less so (there weren’t too many surprises there!), the results were also very interesting on a personal level.

I’ve spent the time between then and now pondering my results: both the basic analysis of my work preferences and also what this might mean for my actual works (my works include my day job, my crafting and my dancing, not to mention home management and parenthood…)

BTW it turns out that ‘pondering’ is one of the key characteristics of my type – anyone surprised?! Yeah, I didn’t think so…

I’ve come to several conclusions through my pondering:

  1. I need to adjust my expectations of myself: for example, I expect myself to be a better organiser and producer, and way more structured, than I naturally prefer to be.
  2. I like my external environment orderly as this gives me space and freedom in my internal environment and supports my creative flow: I get annoyed if I want to create something and I have to ‘waste time’ finding the things to create with.
  3. Being orderly is not the same as being organised: see #1 and 2.
  4. It is okay to be the way I am: I can learn to celebrate my strengths and preferences rather than obsess about my ‘weak’ areas. See #1.

Figuring out #4 almost brought me to tears.

I’ve realised that for years I’ve fought my natural inclinations in an effort to be more like I thought I ought to be (anyone else out there done this?!)

So…

…I’ve decided to give myself permission to follow my preferences – to work with me, not against me – and to see where that takes me. It IS okay for me to be the way IΒ  am (though I may need to remember to get assistance with some things!)

And, you know something?

The same goes for you.

You are okay the way you are (in all the chaos and wonder that may be; or, indeed, in all the order and tidiness… )*

You don’t have to try to be someone else. You are both useful and wonderful as you are.

πŸ™‚

At this point, I’m going to leave you with a fabulous song by the even-more-fabulous Amanda Palmer that I think covers this all nicely. This is one of my favouritest songs:

(If you don’t do YouTube, the lyrics can be found here.)

* * *

P.S. For those of you interested in exploring these things, the Myers-Briggs system is a good place to start (Google it – there are plenty of websites. I do recommend taking several different tests as results may, as always, vary). In this system, I’m an INFP, with strong emphasis on the I and N. The F and P are close to centre; depending on the wording of questions I may score as a T or J.

* * *

* In the interests of a smoothly functioning and civil society, if your ‘YOU’ could be reasonably law-abiding and not very nasty, that would be appreciated.

 

Author: verdant1

belly dancer, mother, student, public servant, shaman, knitter, sister, feminist, gardener and a lot more...

4 thoughts on “Pondering Personality”

  1. Oh my goodness, I’m reading this thinking that this could have been me writing it a few years ago!! When I first did an MBTI assessment, it taught me a huge amount about myself, and about how my expectations of how I ‘should be’ were totally out of alignment with my actual preferences. In fact, I would go so far as to say it changed my life. I wouldn’t be doing what I do (using a whole bunch of methods including MBTI to coach creative people and entrepreneurs to get the best out of their creative talents) for a start!! And like you, figuring out #4 was an enormously emotional one for me. πŸ™‚

    I love tools that take a holistic look at the whole you, not simply the ‘work you’ – they are so much more valuable.

    As for your assessment about having your environment orderly to give you space and freedom to create…. seriously you’ve hit the nail on the head there! This is EXACTLY what I teach. Everyone’s balance point is different, but you have to have the balance for the creative process to work to its fullest, and a focused creative approach can actually feed the ordered side as well. It’s all about creating a structure within which your creative process can flow in the best way possible.

    Made my day reading this! πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Aw, gee! Thanks for your heartfelt comments (and for giving me added hope about all this heading towards a good place ;))

      I really appreciate your observation about balance points. We’ve been having some conversations about that at work. Everyone was surprised I scored so low on structure, given how tidy my desk is! And our strongest organiser is one of the messiest…

      And I definitely ❀ this: "It’s all about creating a structure within which your creative process can flow in the best way possible."

      Thanks for sharing!

      Like

Come and join the conversation...

