Randomness & Creativity

I sometimes feel like my creativity is a very fickle beast: it hangs around getting in my face when I’m trying to do other things, then is nowhere to be seen when I have time and space for it (actually, that’s a lot like my cat…)

But when I stop and consider, it turns out the fickle beast is more likely to be me. My creativity scares me, so I run and hide from it. Then, when I want something from it, I go looking for it and am surprised that it doesn’t want to know me.

Or, I’m not ‘in the mood’ (whatever that is – apart from a great Big Band number) and ignore its suggestions, and then wonder why it doesn’t turn up on demand…

I’m not yet good at nurturing my creative spark, at listening to it, at allowing its needs.

Yet, I aspire to live a creative life – to coax that spark into a blaze…

… so I must learn

to pay attention to the voice inside me

to ‘hang out’ with my spark even when I feel like running from it

to do the work even especially when it scares me

to stop aspiring and get on with actually living that creative life

It always be a work in progress – but I will continue to work for it…

Author: verdant1

belly dancer, mother, student, public servant, shaman, knitter, sister, feminist, gardener and a lot more...

1 thought on “Randomness & Creativity”

Come and join the conversation...

