Distraction

I was feeling bad for being distracted this weekend: instead of cleaning the house or making things or dancing or gardening or folding washing or any other ‘oughts’, I’ve spent *ahem* rather a lot of time on Pinterest and Etsy pinning and planning  my Summer wardrobe.

Then I wondered why I was feeling bad.

After all, there is nothing inherently wrong in taking an hour (or four!) to gather ideas, prepare a mood board, and plan how I could spend my wardrobe budget.

In fact, it was fascinating to see what emerged when I made my mood board (you can have  a look here – do let me know what you think).

And, as a result of this work, I’ve felt inspired towards new projects, as well as clearing out more of the old.

But it turns out that clothes and clothes shopping are an area where my head is a little screwed up.

On my more conscious level, I am aware that how I dress is an important form of my creative expression (even in corporate mode!)

However, my sub-conscious keeps undermining that.

I’m not completely sure why that is the case. But there are bits of me that seem to believe that thinking about how I clothe myself  is shallow and wasteful of my time and money. And there are other bits that are terrified of self-expression – and, especially, that I might actually be as fabulous as I hope.

So, I am taking  a deep breath and consciously choosing

  • to put energy, time and – yes – money into my clothing
  • to value all forms of my creative expression
  • to face my fears and be my fabulous self despite them (or to spite them?!)

I will have a Summer wardrobe this year and I will enjoy it!

Thanks for ‘listening’ 🙂

 

Author: verdant1

belly dancer, mother, student, public servant, shaman, knitter, sister, feminist, gardener and a lot more...

Come and join the conversation...

