The right mood?

I’m not sure this is an approach I could recommend in good conscience – despite my use of it over the years 😉

I’ve learned to use deadlines to help me focus, but preferably without too much panic. Panic tends to tense my body up, which makes typing, dancing, and knitting all rather difficult and potentially injurious.

These days I prefer to operate out of a space of relaxed calm as much as possible (with kids and work and life, it’s definitely not always possible! And please don’t ask about when I was a student…) It may mean I don’t get terror-induced ideas and inspiration, but it also means I don’t have to tidy up terror-induced not-so-good ideas.

I’ve also found that allowing time and space for concepts to unfold into ideas to unfold into projects is a useful way of allowing my over-energetic imagination to play without filling my life with an excess of unfinished projects!

But enough about me… what’s your preferred creative mood?

Author: verdant1

belly dancer, mother, student, public servant, shaman, knitter, sister, feminist, gardener and a lot more...

Come and join the conversation...

