Nurturing your creative life

Something that is vital to having a creative life, but often oh-so-hard to prioritise in the daily grind, is nurturing that creative life.

As you may have guessed from my posts, this is not something that comes naturally to me. I have had to learn ways of doing it, and all too often the daily grind takes over. I suspect this is true for most of us (please tell me I’m not alone!)

So, here are three things I’ve learned (and endeavour to apply) that help keep me sparking:

* First on the list, and for good reason, is giving myself time and space to ponder and dream.

I have a journalling habit that helps me clear the dross out of my brain. I find handwriting with a nice flowing pen helps the thoughts flow through me – it constantly amazes me what rises to the surface when I can achieve that semi-trance flow state (and how fast it all comes to a crashing stop when the kids want something… only two three interruptions while writing this post!)

* Next up is making sure I have regular exposure to inspiration in its myriad forms.

I use Pinterest and my music collection for this when I’m at home – and is the reason behind my ‘Random Bits of Inspiration‘ posts. I’ll also trawl YouTube for new music and use Google image searches on whatever topic springs to mind. Out and about, I try to look around me and appreciate my surroundings. I also have a serious library habit, and I try not to limit myself, but wander all the shelves (especially non-fiction) to see what leaps out.

*Third (and where I often fall down) is getting on and actually doing creative stuff.

Right now, this often involves sitting around knitting or crocheting – I find that process meditative, and the colour and feel of the yarn is a form of inspiration in itself. I do get caught in the ‘too many ideas and not enough time to make them’ trap, but I’ll keep plugging away.

What I would like to do, and don’t get round to often enough, is to take myself to my studio space and play – be it dancing, sewing, beading , yarning, whatever. For some reason, actually getting myself downstairs into my studio is a hard thing for me to do at present. It’s much easier to stay upstairs and dream and knit. I suspect part of it is the ‘fear of my own creativity‘ thing. Another part may be my desire to have a less-cluttered space – which means less fabric and less yarn and less stuff, and I don’t want to let go! It’s (another) work in progress (and I’m never short of those 😉 )

So, that’s me. How about you?

Do these ideas resonate with you?

Do you have other ways of keeping your creativity alive and well?

I’d love to hear about them (and you)…

 

 

Author: verdant1

belly dancer, mother, student, public servant, shaman, knitter, sister, feminist, gardener and a lot more...

4 thoughts on “Nurturing your creative life”

  1. Oh yes, the fear of my own creativity . . . it is also a reticence/reluctance to fully engage the wild energy and demanding presence of the Awen. There are days when that is easier than others, but to create I must take the plunge into the great flowing of inspiration.

    Like

Come and join the conversation...

