Keeping your feet on the ground

The end of the school holidays are in sight, and we’ve had some fun times, and some chill times, and even some fun, chill times.

Right now, however, I am struggling to stay focused and grounded. Seems like something about my normal routines going up in the air sends my mind up there, too… and I don’t enjoy that.

Here are some things I use to help myself keep on the ground:

  • eating dark chocolate – I find this a good quick fix (coffee can work well, too, if you’re that way inclined)
  • deep breathing and meditation (which can also help with patience for being around children – bonus!)
  • holding obsidian or other stones
  • gardening – getting soil under your fingernails is, quite literally, grounding
  • if I can’t garden for some reason, spending time with my indoor plant jungle
  • journalling – especially good when there’s weight on my mind
  • knitting or crochet – doing something physical, tangible and tactile helps keep me present
  • keeping my red meat levels up (oops, I ate chicken tonight – still at least that keeps the cat happy)
  • stroking my cat

Is there anything you would add to this list? Or leave out? I’d love to hear about what works (or doesn’t) for you.

So, as we’re all out of chocolate (oh no!), I’ll be spending my evening wandering round with a chunk of obsidian in my pocket, doing deep breathing, knitting with my indoor jungle, and thinking about getting my fingers in the soil when the daylight comes again…

… and really looking forward to Monday’s return to normality đŸ˜‰

 

Author: verdant1

belly dancer, mother, student, public servant, shaman, knitter, sister, feminist, gardener and a lot more...

Come and join the conversation...

