The lure of the games

…in which I engage in some thinking out loud (out page?!)…

I’m fighting a losing battle at the mo against the temptation of computer games (and when I say fighting, I really mean ‘clicking and enjoying every minute’).

My current favourite is ‘Plants vs Zombies’, so I can’t even claim highbrow standards or complex strategic thinking in my defence!

But I find myself pondering why I regard this as a temptation and something to be if not embarrassed then at least vaguely sheepish about…

There’s nothing inherently wicked or evil in playing games when they’re not on a computer – humans have enjoyed games for millennium before computers were even invented – so why would the medium of play make something bad when at heart it isn’t?

It’s a curious phenomenon…

I do feel a certain need to justify my existence by either having my children ‘help’ me play (i.e. calling out random instructions at even more random times or pointing out the bleeding obvious…) or making sure that I am doing ‘worthy’ things before and after my episodes of play…

… and I wonder why I feel that need

There’s nothing to be ashamed of in play or relaxation or resting or enjoying life, and yet I find myself feeling guilty or awkward when ‘caught’ doing these things (not just computer games). Which is all a bit crazy really!

I know in my heart that play and the like are an important part of a creative life, yet my head refuses to place any value on these activities.

It’s a tricky conundrum…

But I guess I’ll just keep trying and keep playing – as well as doing those ‘worthy’ things. Life needn’t be either/or, after all.

And if anyone has any bright ideas or good advice (or game recommendations!), let me know 😉

 

Author: verdant1

belly dancer, mother, student, public servant, shaman, knitter, sister, feminist, gardener and a lot more...

Come and join the conversation...

