From work room to studio

Over the years, I’ve attempted to de-clutter my work room and create space for  my dance.

This gained urgency at the end of last year, when the Supper Club, my dance group, lost our practice venue and everywhere else was twice the price.

With our first dance night of 2015 coming up fast (this Thursday!) sorting it out became extremely urgent. (Fortunately, I work well to deadlines…)

My work room has evolved from this (in 2011)

2011 Work room 5

through this (in 2013)

2013 Work room in progress

and this (2014)

2014-07 work room2

to this, as of noon today: Welcome to The Oasis!

2015-01 the Oasis

(Disclaimer: this photograph may have been taken from the most flattering angle and may not show clear views of the fabric and yarn storage or of the [very] dwarf date palm)

I now have enough room for 4 or 5 people to belly dance in my studio (Yay! I can call it a studio now! This makes me unreasonably excited!)

I now also have only the supplies and other bits that inspire me to create. That has taken a lot of work; hand-in-hand with transforming my inner creative landscape. I am now much clearer about what I do and don’t enjoy, and what sorts of creating call out to me. I’m looking forward to heeding that call and having some fun!

In the meantime, anyone want some beads?!

And roll on Thursday night 🙂

Author: verdant1

belly dancer, mother, student, public servant, shaman, knitter, sister, feminist, gardener and a lot more...

4 thoughts on “From work room to studio”

  1. Y’all have to come round and check it out – dancing is not compulsory (only encouraged!) I even have room to get my hoop out again 🙂 There is still some way to go before it reaches what I truly crave, but I’m well on the way…

    Like

Come and join the conversation...

