Evening solitude

There’s a quality to evening solitude that is different from daytime solitude.

I get daytime solitude quite regularly. It is a busy-ish, bustling thing with to-do lists and aspirations.

I don’t get evening solitude very often. Usually my house is a bundle of kids and chaos: homework and chores and laughter and craziness (yeah, and the odd bit of nagging!)

Tonight is different. My family has gone away without me. And, while I’m sad I can’t join them (bothersome viral fatigue), I am also feeling strangely calm and cheerful right now (well, except for the bit when they came back to get the stuff they’d left behind – that was a brief flash of terror! But they’ve really gone now… and are not back till Sunday lunchtime.)

I am enjoying this evening: it is blessedly still and not-too-chilly (an unusual combination in this wind-ridden city). The sun is fading and soft light cloaks the hills around me. I can feel the house relaxing around me, and my own shoulders are slowly releasing.

Tomorrow will bring the busyness of daytime solitude – sewing and gardening and laundry and tidying and looking after myself.

But for now I will enjoy my peaceful evening ❤

Author: verdant1

belly dancer, mother, student, public servant, shaman, knitter, sister, feminist, gardener and a lot more...

One thought on “Evening solitude”

Come and join the conversation...

