Are you a procrastinator?

If you are (like me), then some time when you’re meant to be doing something else, can I suggest having a read of this excellent blog series by fellow-sufferer Tim Urban at Wait but Why:

Confession time: I stumbled across Wait but Why when I was meant to be writing an assignment, but was really skimming through Facebook, where a friend had posted a link to this article on whether alien life is out there, which had nothing at all to do with what I was meant to be doing, but did let me discover the posts on procrastination which helped me acknowledge my issues…

And if you recognised anything of yourself in that confession, do read those posts above right now (or even just one of them). I’ll wait here for you.

BTW unless you are a fellow-procrastinator, you may find it hard to believe how long it has taken me to write even this short post: it’s taken me over a week of fluffing round before I even started, and now over an hour of getting distracted every second sentence. But my Pinterest boards are refreshed… :/

Yeah, I recognise myself all too well in those posts.

But I am determined to fight it! Especially now I have some clues about HOW to do that – thank you, Tim Urban 🙂

I will wrestle my monkey and spend more time living in Q2 and my happy playground (and if that makes no sense, go read the third post… it will be worth your time)

I will battle my Impostinator tendencies and focus myself on what is genuinely important to me (which also means getting my social approval mammoth on a tighter leash), instead of rushing round being ‘productive’ in ways that don’t matter.

Let’s see what I can do when my monkey and my mammoth are leashed! I will keep you posted on my efforts.

If you’d like to chat more about this, remember the comments section is waiting, as is Facebook. Maybe we could form a support group?!

Oh, and if you need something to fill in a couple of minutes, I’d love it if you could tell me what you want to read more of on this site: the survey is open for a few more days. My thanks to those of you who have already completed it 🙂

Author: verdant1

belly dancer, mother, student, public servant, shaman, knitter, sister, feminist, gardener and a lot more...

2 thoughts on “Are you a procrastinator?”

  1. Love it! Hit the nail on the head – Why I hated uni (only the bit straight out of school, what a change, wonder if it is still like this for students?) and why I am now a teacher – a structured day that you cannot escape from, and a yearly conclusion every year. So now I only procrastinate in my personal creative life . . . . I have however managed to be more productive creatively at work . . . might be from blogging to hold myself accountable? Need to get through the home-life-fog somehow . .

    Like

    1. Love your turn of phrase: “home-life-fog” is so accurate ❤
      I must admit I enjoyed the lack of structure of uni – but I did do a lot of fast essay writing late at night! To actually get things done, a certain amount of structure definitely helps me (but not so much that I feel caged). But I do wish I was better at organising myself to do the truly important things…

      Like

Come and join the conversation...

