What I’ve been making (May 2015 edition)

I thought I’d let you take a peak at the crafty things I’ve been working on lately.

I’ve been having  a bit of a sewing binge (aided and abetted by my re-sorted stash) and I’ve got my yarn mojo back… There’s tonnes of new things my fingers are itching to start, but I’m determined to finish a few things first.

First up, those tassels I made a while back have now been beltified (which really should be a word) and are all set to dance:

Tassel belt has, um, tassels...

Last year, I did a course to develop a trouser pattern to fit your own body. So lately, I’ve been working up my first-ever-pair of trousers from my-very-own-pattern. It’s taken a bit of tweaking, and I will tweak a little more before the next pair, but I am really pleased with how well they’ve turned out.

In between my focused trouser tweaking, I also ran up a quick skirt out of stash fabric I adore. I’m not sure why it’s taken me several years to get round to doing this, but at least it’s done now!

Mori flower skirt - with apologies for the crap lighting

My pending pile includes a mostly cut-out wool coat for the rapidly approaching winter, then a few more coats (because coat fabric takes up so much storage space!). So, by Summer I should be super cosy! The to-do pile also includes this impressively cheerful (because ‘gaudy’ is too harsh a word) fabric for some dance pantaloons. I promise to hide the finished garment under a skirt…

Even brighter in real life!

On the yarn front, I’m plugging away at finishing some long-standing projects (why do adult-sized cardigan bands have to be so flaming long?!) and working on a couple of newer inspirations. There is a real risk I might actually finish some things! Although weaving-in-ends inevitably slows me done… (BTW I recently discovered ‘evitable’ is a real word. For some reason, this fills me with joy.)

I’m halfway through crocheting squares for a chunky granny square blanket (so about a third of the way through the whole project), which will be jolly useful shortly – sudden frosts are certainly an incentive to keep on hooking…

Half a box of crochet squares

And I’m almost up to the second sleeve of a bolero, following Mel Clark’s everyday cardigan pattern. That will then leave another long band to make to complete it… sigh! But it will be worth it…

This is a sleeve, not a caterpillar. I swear!

And I’m also pleased to have finally found the perfect colour yarn to finish off a Malabrigo yarn shrug. (The original plan came out looking tragically ’80s :/ ) I just need to finish the first cardigan band to free up the needles… I’m getting close…

Once these are done, there’s a few more *cough* half-finished projects to get done before I go too wild casting on new things (okay, I might allow myself one or three along the way…).

So that’s what’s keeping me out of mischief. What have you been up to?

Author: verdant1

belly dancer, mother, student, public servant, shaman, knitter, sister, feminist, gardener and a lot more...

One thought on “What I’ve been making (May 2015 edition)”

Come and join the conversation...

