What really matters to you?

Something I suspect we all struggle with from time-to-time is the busyness of life and the multitude of worthy causes requesting our attention.

I know I sometimes get overwhelmed…

…the demands of a day job …the numbers of charities I’d like to contribute to …the projects I’d like to do …the natural disasters and human suffering from war …the need to clean the house and cook the dinner …the endangering of precious species …finding time to support my friends and family …whether my kids’ shoes still fit …the little I can do to slow climate change …the big and the little things of life.

All these buzz around in my brain and try to keep me awake at night. Sometimes it seems a miracle that anything gets done!

So how can we decide where to put our energy?

Unfortunately, I don’t know of any easy answers (if you find one, do let me know)

The day-to-day little things need to be done, and we need to care about the big stuff too.

I do think we each need to take the time to consciously decide what is most important to us. What really matters to you? What do you value?

For myself, this includes big concepts like justice and fairness and compassion, as well as little things like eating a fairly healthy diet (please don’t count the biscuits!) And you may have guessed that creativity is important to me, too 😉

Once you know what’s important to you, you can make decisions and choices based on that.

For example, I try to buy fair trade, local and/or indie as much as possible. I choose to spend time supporting my friends, and building connections and community because that matters to me. I buy lots of veg (along with the biscuits) to help feed my family well. And, as you know, I choose to put a lot of time and energy into creative projects.

It’s not always going to be easy to make those choices – sometimes the budget doesn’t stretch far enough, sometimes you just want the fish’n’chips or a nap…

… but if we can stay conscious and keep trying to live our values – to walk our talk – I think we really can change the world: little choice by little choice, big decision by big decision.

So, take a few minutes to think about what really matters to you…

Now, go live that as best you can!

Yes, it really is that simple (which is not the same as ‘easy’)

Author: verdant1

belly dancer, mother, student, public servant, shaman, knitter, sister, feminist, gardener and a lot more...

Come and join the conversation...

