The quiet, grey days of Winter

Down here in my part of the Southern Hemisphere, we’re heading into the heart of winter. The shortest day is looming ever nearer and the hours of light each day are noticeably diminished. The sunlight is mostly watery through grey clouds and a cold wind blows (some days straight from Antarctica it seems).

It’s not a time for high energy and exuberant activity. The instinct is to retreat into comfiness and contemplate the world from underneath blankets. But life still goes on…

The relentless pace of the modern office dominates the rhythms of my week, even as my instinctual self tries to stay in bed longer each morning (yes, there have been some mad dashes for the train). Fluorescent lights and computer screens don’t care what the weather does or where in the sky the sun sits.

How does one balance the ancient urge to hibernate and withdraw with the modern demand to produce and be active?

I don’t have any easy answers, I’m afraid.

I am slowly learning to work with the energies of each season. Although after four decades of seasons, you’d think that the changing energy would catch me less by surprise – but it seems that will take yet more seasons…

It is a constant juggle for me: the quiet yin my soul craves becomes the jangling yang of yet another email.

All I can do is keep juggling, and keep reviewing how many balls I try to keep in the air.

I do my best to take time to rest and reflect, and to not push myself into excess activities.

This is a good time to ponder, to finish, to take stock, to embed my learnings, to make my peace with the cold.

I know the wheel will soon turn towards Spring, and the increasing light will bring increasing activity and new things.

But just now it is the quiet, grey days of Winter,

and I will sit,

and I will ponder,

and I will take stock to make way for the new things to come…

and there will be more tea…

❤ ❤ ❤

Author: verdant1

belly dancer, mother, student, public servant, shaman, knitter, sister, feminist, gardener and a lot more...

One thought on “The quiet, grey days of Winter”

Come and join the conversation...

