What I’m reading (version 22.07.2015)

Books

Overwhelmed by Brigid Schulte – a fascinating look at Western society (especially American) and our cultures of time. It includes some interesting and useful tips, and thinking points.

Dressing your truth by Carol Tuttle – a guide to dressing that works from the inside out, rather than by your colouring and shape. You start by identifying your dominant energy type and work out from there; with the permission to be true to yourself rather than conforming to anyone else’s ideas of what your energy ‘should’ be – you ‘own’ your own energy ๐Ÿ™‚ . I’ve found this remarkably freeing. It’s taken a few weeks for this to sink in fully, but I’m now at a place where I can see the usefulness, sense and practical application. In case you’re wondering, I’m a Type 2. The link will take you to her free introductory course, which includes a copy of the book. If you’re not into e-courses, you can buy the book on its own from the usual places. At some point I intend to sign up for her paid course and learn more – it really has been that useful and revealing for me.

The big leap by Gay Hendricks – an interesting method for identifying your blocks and freeing your potential. I can see myself re-reading this a few times to let things sink in and take effect.

Currently reading Home by Francis Pryor (from Time Team), which is an engaging and fascinating read about British prehistory.

Blogs

Lucky Bitch (discovered via Hiya Tootsie) – a blog about money and giving yourself permission to make it. Aimed at women entrepreneurs. I check in regularly to keep kicking my butt along ๐Ÿ˜‰

Mama Said – honest parenting. Really, really honest parenting. This blog is written by a friend of mine who has had a full-on ride with her young kids. If you’ve felt as a parent like you’re the only one, have a read (as long as you can cope with raw honesty and swearing). I especially like her posts I am grateful… and Lessons from children.

Druid Life – I love this blog (as you may have guessed from all the re-blogging!) I find Nimue Brown’s posts thought-provoking and often quite healing (if not always comfortable).

Manga and Comics

Dengeki Daisy – I’m almost up toย the final volume (which has just been published) of this manga, which revolves around an unlikely romance and an even more unlikely computing conspiracy. I’m curious to see how it finishes, but I really don’t want it to end…

Blastosaurus – I was helped to discover this comic by its author, Richard Fairgray, at a stand at Armageddon Expo last weekend. This is a fabulous story about a mutant triceratops detective, and the complications of time-travel and ray guns. I bought volume 1; now I want them all ๐Ÿ™‚

My new favouritest web comic is Breaking Cat News – it is beautifully drawn, gently funny, and very, very cat.

* * *

Now… what are you reading? Any recommendations?!

Author: verdant1

belly dancer, mother, student, public servant, shaman, knitter, sister, feminist, gardener and a lot more...

Come and join the conversation...

