Announcing a challenge!

We had parent-teacher interviews for my kids last week, and somehow this is directly responsible for me setting up a writing challenge with my sons (personally, I blame enthusiastic and engaged teachers! It’s great!)

At the heart of this challenge is an agreement one son and I made to come up with writing topics to challenge the other: he writes a lot of suspenseful sci-fi (why, yes, he does like Doctor Who…), whereas I stopped writing fiction years ago. And then the other son didn’t want to be left out…

But why should we be the only ones to be challenged?!

You can join in, too ๐Ÿ™‚

The steps to do this are easy:

  1. I’ll list the challenge topics each month, starting at the end of this post.
  2. You pick one (or three!) to play with and get writing, drawing, creating (just because my family is doing this asย  writing challenge, you needn’t limit your options).
  3. You send me a link or text or picture or whatever (as long as it’s something which can be posted online). For text, MSWord or rtf formats are best – you can email verdant at paradise.net.nz, or send it via Facebook message.
  4. I post your work on this blog (or re-blog it, if you’d rather post on your own site). I will also post what my sons and I come up with.

There will be new challenges every month for the next few months, but work at your own pace – we’ll keep the rules to a minimum ๐Ÿ™‚

Here’s this month’s challenges:

  • Non-fiction – a blog post about time management for young creatives
  • Fiction 1 – realistic, suspenseful horror (or horrific, realistic suspense; or suspenseful, horrific realism!)
  • Fiction 2 – a medieval fantasy quest with a griffin as the main character

Do come and join in ๐Ÿ™‚

Author: verdant1

belly dancer, mother, student, public servant, shaman, knitter, sister, feminist, gardener and a lot more...

1 thought on “Announcing a challenge!”

Come and join the conversation...

