What I’ve been making (August 2015 edition)

There’s been a lot of yarn in use! And some fabric too…

I’ve been trialling a new approach to managing my yarn projects. In the past, I’ve had a tendency to have at least half a dozen (and if I’m honest, a lot closer to a full dozen) things on the go at any one time, because I love starting new things…

I only took one (yes, one!) project on my trip to Sydney. I found I really enjoyed the simplicity of not needing to think about what to work on. If I wanted to do something, I just picked it up and got on with it – no thoughts about whether I felt like doing this one or that one, and no guilt about all the things I wasn’t working on.

When we got home, I got to thinking about how that had felt and worked for me, and I realised I liked it. So I decided to try having only two active projects on the go – one for upstairs and one for downstairs! Everything else in progress got piled up neatly in a corner of the studio.

So far it is working well. I really, really enjoy just being able to pick something up and get to work. And I’m really not missing the angst of constant decisions!

I’m also ploughing through the finishing of things 🙂

Recently finished:

The Granny Square blanket I introduced to you back in May. It now looks like this (and is super cosy):

Photo5564

A shawl for a friend (which I can’t show you just now, because I haven’t given it to her yet)

My grassy-green version of Suvi Simola’s Fold and Turn – a deceptively simple and deliciously cosy loose shrug (I love the stripe detail down the centre back):

Photo5567

I’ve also sewn up a range of skirts for myself (which has been part of a whole wardrobe refurbish) and made myself a hat from a skein of camel hair yarn I’ve had for *cough* years:.

I did make a woollen coat that was meant to be for me, but after wearing it for a few weeks, I realised it would look a lot better on one of my friends, so it’s living with her now 🙂

❤

Currently on the go:

  • Finishing a grey jersey for myself – just the sleeves to go (upstairs)
  • A sock yarn oddments crochet shawl (downstairs)

And I have a wee confession: I’m not counting the glove project I keep by my laptop for when the updates take too long to install… It’s there to boost my patience and will enter the official list at some point 😉

❤

Patiently waiting their turn:

  • The green bolero I mentioned in May
  • The final band of a blue-violet-green shrug
  • A green crochet lacy blanket

❤

Itching to start:

  • A lace shawl from the gorgeous green yarn I bought in Katoomba (I have bought the pattern already)
  • Some blankets and shawls for friends
  • A brown polar fleece coat (which will have a steampunk twist or three)
  • My spotty pantaloons (I was going to make these last weekend, but got distracted by gardening and dancing…)

❤

What have you been making?

I’d love to hear – or even see: you’re welcome to share photos on the Facebook page 🙂

Author: verdant1

belly dancer, mother, student, public servant, shaman, knitter, sister, feminist, gardener and a lot more...

Come and join the conversation...

