Inspiration: drought or flood?

 

Photo4269

Sometimes it seems the well of inspiration runs dry. Other times one feels swept away by a flood of ideas.

Personally, I don’t particularly enjoy either situation!

I find myself either bored and frustrated and restless, or overwhelmed and confused. Neither is particularly useful for actually getting on with creating stuff.

So what to do?

My main answer is notebooks! Well, that and lots and lots of handwriting.

I try to jot down the ideas when they flood my brain, so I have a reservoir ready for the dry patches.

When the floods hit, I make lists and jot notes and handwrite myself to solid ground.

And when the waters recede out of sight, I handwrite until the words flow easy again.

I find the action of handwriting loosens things up and steadies me. (There is a possibility I’m a bit odd!)

I do sometimes wonder if there are ways to balance it out. Is a steady flow even possible? Or is this inspiration business strictly tidal?!

What do you find?

Are there techniques you use to manage your flows of inspiration? Or are you up and down like me?

If you do know ways of managing the flow, I’d love to hear about them… There’s the comments section below and the Facebook page – or if you can squeeze your insight into a few characters, tweet me!

Author: verdant1

belly dancer, mother, student, public servant, shaman, knitter, sister, feminist, gardener and a lot more...

Come and join the conversation...

