Some resources to inspire your spring clean

Here’s a few things I’m currently finding to be useful sources of inspiration and food for thought as I work on my spring clean of my home and my life:

  • The life-changing magic of tidying by Marie Kondo (aka KonMari). You’ve probably heard the term ‘KonMari’ mentioned wherever someone is talking about de-cluttering. Marie Kondo has developed a distinctly Japanese approach to tidying that is inspiring many people, including me. I particularly like the idea of choosing to keep those things that ‘spark joy’ – such a simple critieria
  • Leave your mark by Aliza Licht. The first few chapters of this book weren’t so relevant for me, but the later parts have really got me thinking about my approach to social media and my wider online life, as well as that vexed question of ‘personal brand’, and who and what I want to be (still figuring that out).
  • And I’ve just discovered that Brittany of the Nested Nomad blog is just starting a series on simplifying your life. Her description of simplicity as “living life with an uncluttered soul” really resonates with me. That is what I aspire to!

What’s inspiring your spring cleaning (or your autumn taking stock)? Let’s have a link fest in the comments, so we all get super motivated!

Author: verdant1

belly dancer, mother, student, public servant, shaman, knitter, sister, feminist, gardener and a lot more...

Come and join the conversation...

