What I’m reading: version 8.05.16

I’ve been on a non-fiction kick lately (possibly because of my dedicated consumption earlier this year of much of John Ringo’s “Ring of Fire” series…)

I’m currently most of the way through Stuffocation by James Wallman, which is a fascinating consideration of our consumerist culture: how we got here, and where we might head next. Warning: may cause much thinking…

I have just today started The 4 Hour Work Week by Tim Ferriss. Don’t start reading this one unless you’re willing to shift your paradigms! I’m only a few chapters in and have already done some hard thinking and life re-design. And I sense this is only the beginning! (And it’s a new moon this weekend – a traditionally auspicious time for new beginnings 😉 )

Other recent reads I’ve valued (there have been a few ‘yeah, nahs’ in there) include:

* Gala Darling Radical Self Love  feels to me to be aimed more at millennial gals than women of my ‘advanced’ years (i.e. I’m over 40), but is still a good read with some great tips.

* Cheryl Richardson The Art of Extreme Self Care is based around interesting and challenging monthly exercises to improve your self-care habits.

* Vint Virga The Soul of All Living Creatures is a beautifully gentle, though at times heart-rending, contemplation of life from the perspective of a vet. I highly recommend it.

* In a similar vein, Sy Montgomery’s The Soul of an Octopus will increase your appreciation and sense of wonder at the mysteries of the tentacled deeps. I read this awhile back and thoroughly enjoyed it. My new-found appreciation of octopuses remains high several months later.

I’m spotting a definite thread of self-awareness and development here…Which is very much where my head and heart are at right now: I’m wanting to transform my life and grow into myself… Watch this space!

Author: verdant1

belly dancer, mother, student, public servant, shaman, knitter, sister, feminist, gardener and a lot more...

Come and join the conversation...

